Become a Lifeguard

Are you looking for a summer job as a lifeguard?

The City Of Orlando trains and hires lifeguards to help keep our pools safe.

Pay from $15-$17 an hour.

Online

Step 1.Check your eligibility

To become a lifeguard, you must:

  • Be 16 years or older
  • Have reliable transportation
  • Pass background and drug screenings
  • Be available to work the entire summer 

Step 2.Be a good swimmer

The Red Cross sets swimming standards for lifeguards. You must be able to:

  • Swim 300m (12 laps) freestyle or breaststroke
  • Tread water for two minutes without using your hands
  • Retrieve a 10 pound brick in 10 feet of water 

Step 3.Sign up for a certification class

Choose one of the sessions below to become certified. You are required to attend all days.

Classes will be online and in-person, with ten people and two instructors per day. You are required to attend all days. Those with an existing Red Cross certification must complete a brief recertification course.

If you area already certified, we’re currently hiring year round, part time certified lifeguards for the following year-round pools: College Park, Dover Shores, Smith and Wadeview. You must have a current Red Cross Lifeguard Certification to apply. Call for more information at 407.245.0478.

Mixed-Mode Classes

Session 1: College Park Pool

2411 Elizabeth Avenue
Orlando, FL 32804

February 19 February 20 February 21 February 22 February 23 
(In-person)
February 24
(In-person)
February 25
(In-person)
Online Online Online Online 5 - 9p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 
Online class link sent on Monday, February 19. Needs to be finished before Saturday, February 25.

Session 2: College Park Pool

2411 Elizabeth Avenue
Orlando, FL 32804

February 26 February 27 February 28 February 29 March 1
(In-person)
March 2 
(In-person)
March 3 
(In-person)
Online Online Online Online 5 - 9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Online class link sent on Monday, February 26. Needs to be finished before Saturday, March 2.

Session 3: College Park Pool

2411 Elizabeth Avenue
Orlando, FL 32804

March 4
March 5
March 6
March 7
March 8
(In-person)
March 9
(In-person)
March 10 
(In-person)
Online Online Online Online 5 - 9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.  9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Online class link sent on Monday, March 4. Needs to be finished before Saturday, March 9.

In-Person Classes

Session 1: College Park Pool

2411 Elizabeth Avenue
Orlando, FL 32804

Thursday, March 28 Friday, March 29 Saturday, March 30 Friday, April 5 Saturday, April 6 Sunday, April 7
5-9 p.m. 5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Session 2: Wadeview Pool

2177 South Summerlin Avenue
Orlando, FL 32806

Friday, April 12 Saturday, April 13 Sunday, April 14 Friday, April 19 Saturday, April 20 Sunday, April 21
5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Session 3: College Park Pool

2411 Elizabeth Avenue
Orlando, FL 32804

Friday, April 26 Saturday, April 27 Sunday, April 28 Friday, May 3 Saturday, May 4 Sunday, May 5
5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Session 4: Wadeview Pool

2177 South Summerlin Avenue
Orlando, FL 32806

Thursday, May 9 Friday, May 10 Saturday, May 11 Friday, May 17 Saturday, May 18 Saturday, May 19
5-9 p.m. 5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 5-9 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Sign Up For a Certification Class

Step 4.Attend your selected class

You will take a swim test on the first day of class.

Remember to bring:

  • Government issued ID
  • Social security card
  • Swimsuit
  • Towel
  • Goggles
  • Change of clothes
  • Paper, and  pencil
  • A sweater or jacket if you get cold easily

At the end of the class you will be certificated in:

  • Lifeguarding
  • First aid
  • CPR for the professional rescuer
  • Automated External Defibrillator (AED) 
  • Oxygen administration

Step 5.Apply for a job in person

At the end of your certification class, we will give you an application for a summer job.

Step 6.Complete the hiring process

Someone from our Human Resources department will contact you to setup your background check and drug screening. The hiring process might take up to three weeks.