Do You See Yourself as a Member of the Orlando Police Department?

OPD-SROs.png

The Orlando Police Department is a nationally recognized law enforcement agency that strives to keep our community safe by reducing crime and maintaining livable neighborhoods.

The Orlando Police Department hires the finest and most qualified candidates to help reduce crime and maintain livable city neighborhoods. Our police officers receive a competitive salary, bonuses, paid time off, medical and life insurance, educational reimbursements and generous retirement benefits.

What we're offering certified police officers:

  • Competitive benefits and starting salary of $52,174.03 (This applies if you have 2 or more years of law enforcement experience, does NOT include Corrections)
    * The Orlando Police Department does not buy back time accrued at another agency
  • Shoe allowance
  • Shift differential (midnight shift)
  • Longevity
  • Current contract bonus (4%)
  • Master Police Officer Bonus
  • Education Incentive (with four-year degree)
  • Equipment provided such as (uniforms, firearms, laptop)
  • All officers, after FTO, are provided with a take home vehicle for a monthly minimal cost

APPLY NOW

Learn More

Police Officer Benefits

Comparing lateral transfer salaries at the Orlando Police Department:

  First Year Officer First Year Lateral Transfer
Base salary $49,248.39 $52,695.77
Show allowance $165  $165 
Midnight shift differential $720  $720 
Minimum salary* $50,133.39  $53,610.77 
Max education incentive** $1,560  $1,560 
Maximum salary* $51,693.39  $55,170.77 

*Does not include overtime or extra pay duty
**Four-year degree plus advanced training

 

 

Certified, but out of state?

Are you a certified law enforcement officer in another state looking to relocate to Florida and apply with the Orlando Police Department?

  • STEP 1: Before applying, enroll into an Equivalency of Training (EOT) course. 
  • STEP 2: After EOT completion, schedule your Florida State Officer Certification Examination (SOCE).

Learn more from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement

Also, we offer the Civil Service Exam nationwide through the National Testing Network (NTN). If you are an out-of-state applicant, you can take our civil service exam at select local testing sites in your state or take the exam virtually. 

Learn more about NTN

If you are a certified law enforcement officer with two prior years of experience, it will advance you to a Step 2 Officer in terms of salary.

Not Certified Yet?

If you are not a certified law enforcement officer and you would like to become a police officer, you must complete a basic recruit training program at a Commission-certified training school or Police Academy.  

The Orlando Police Department offers sponsorships to attend the academy at Valencia College’s Criminal Justice Institute after you successfully go through our hiring process. 

Learn more about the Basic Law Enforcement Academy at Valencia College

Additional information for new police officers:

  • Minimum age limit is 21 years old
  • When first hired, it will as a temporary civilian employee, until you are sworn in by the Chief of Police during your orientation. Once sworn in, the pay will switch to a sworn police officer salary. 
  • As a new employee you will complete a nine-week orientation, as well as Field Training. This training consists of three phases of sixteen workdays, and one phase of seven workdays. 
  • After successful training completion, new officers are transferred to the Patrol Division and assigned to a midnight shift patrol squad. 
    • The schedule has two rotations - Alpha and Bravo
    • Workdays rotate the same every two weeks (80 hour pay periods)
      • Ex: Work two days, two regular days off, work three days, two regular days off, work two days, three regular days off.